News 

Recent Articles

St Vincent’s Hospital is one of the to...

Tuesday, 7th May 19

St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne has been ranked as one of the top 100 hospitals in the world by news outlet, Newsweek. St Vincent’s further cemented its position as a world-class hospital and healthcare provider by being rated number four on the list of the best hospitals in Australia.

How to help minimise hay fever symptoms

Monday, 7th Oct 19

Do you dread Spring because you suffer from hay fever? Some tips to help minimise your symptoms...

Addressing the impact of kidney disease ...

Thursday, 10th Oct 19

Find out about the pilot project that is seeing promising results.

Blessing of the Foundation

Monday, 28th Oct 19

The Foundation was officially blessed to inspire ongoing peace and prosperity.

From St Vincent’s to Vietnam

Wednesday, 30th Oct 19

A fascinating presentation about St Vincent staff who went to Vietnam in 1965.

Special dinner for Caritas Christi

Monday, 4th Nov 19

Mrs Jeannie Pratt AC hosted a very successful fundraising dinner at her home ‘Raheen’.

Preparing for the future

Thursday, 7th Nov 19

Free Wills Seminar inspires attendees to 'take action'.

Groundbreaking diabetes research

Monday, 11th Nov 19

Find out about the latest innovations in diabetes research....

The importance of a healthy gut

Friday, 15th Nov 19

Our researchers are doing ground breaking work to address gut issues.

Recognising our volunteers

Wednesday, 4th Dec 19

The Foundation is very lucky to have two wonderful volunteers, Phyl and Marg.

A Christmas Thankyou & Special Announcem...

Thursday, 12th Dec 19

We're proud to announce our new St Vincent's Hospital ambassador

Butterfly Wall – Gone but not forgotte...

Friday, 13th Dec 19

A 'Butterfly Wall’ comprising of around 1000 handmade ceramic tiles unfortunately had to be dismantled for the redevelopment of Caritas Christi Hospice. Find out what happened next...

Healing messages give hope

Monday, 16th Dec 19

Read some of the beautiful healing messages we've received from our caring donors.

Transforming the treatment of bone cance...

Thursday, 19th Dec 19

A new research project is set to change the way physicians surgically treat bone cancer.

A Christmas Blessing

Friday, 20th Dec 19

Executive Director Mission, Margaret Stewart and Mission Integration Manager, Julie Wain share a Christmas Blessing.

The future of skin repair

Monday, 23rd Dec 19

An exciting research project is looking at creating artificial skin by using 3D printing techniques.

Lunar New Year – a time for celebratio...

Tuesday, 14th Jan 20

We’re commemorating our rich and diverse community by highlighting the Lunar New Year celebration.

THANK YOU for giving the Gift of Hope

Wednesday, 22nd Jan 20

We wanted to say thank you to the hundreds of generous people who supported our Christmas Appeal.

Think about your heart this Valentine’...

Monday, 27th Jan 20

14th February is also the "Day of Hearts" – a reminder to love and take care of your heart.

World-first research featured in Herald ...

Monday, 17th Feb 20

The first two patients have had a “fitbit for the brain” implanted in a world-first trial.

Dame Quentin Bryce advocates for palliat...

Thursday, 27th Feb 20

We are proud to announce the Honourable Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO as an Advocate of St Vincent’s Centre for Palliative Care.

Celebrating remarkable women

Sunday, 8th Mar 20

International Women's Day celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women.

St Vincent Cares Autumn edition

Monday, 16th Mar 20

In this edition we announce our new Advocate for Palliative Care, world first research and much more!

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Wednesday, 18th Mar 20

Information and guidance about the current outbreak of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Emergency Appeal Coronavirus Fact Sheet

Wednesday, 25th Mar 20

Here’s a handy downloadable fact sheet to help you to stay well.

Printing 3D masks for health workers

Tuesday, 7th Apr 20

A team at St Vincent’s Aikenhead Centre for Medical Discovery are 3D printing face shields.

New series of videos to show our appreci...

Thursday, 9th Apr 20

We've created a series of videos as a thank you for the support received for our Emergency Appeal.

Giving back to say thanks for life-chang...

Tuesday, 14th Apr 20

Neel is giving back to support the hospital that transformed his life.

A new lease on life

Monday, 20th Apr 20

Ray Thomas will be forever grateful to St Vincent's for saving his life.

Using technology to address Covid-19 nee...

Monday, 20th Apr 20

Advanced manufacturing assistance is being offered to clinicians to meet Covid-19 needs.

International Nurses Day

Friday, 8th May 20

We encourage everyone to take a moment to reflect on the incredible care our nurses provide.

Building for the future of palliative ca...

Thursday, 14th May 20

Construction has started on the new Caritas Christi building. Watch the progress of the build live!

Patients sit in comfort thanks to Dry Ju...

Thursday, 21st May 20

Find out how St Vincent’s cancer patients benefited from $40,000 raised from Dry July 2019.